Biking Holland. . . Gouda to Uithoorn

Standard

Well, the day started out sad for us. I had a hard time sleeping last night, thinking about Rosalie, regretting what we never got to do together. Praying for her family. . . Missing being at home. We biked into the town of Gouda, just a short distance, and I realized that I had
1) forgotten my travel pack which never leaves me, and
2) realized that my camera battery was ready to die.

I’m just not myself today. Sorry, the wont be many pictures, but as the day progressed, there was little time and effort for anything but pedaling.

But first, a little glimpse of Gouda.

You know, the Universe works in amazing ways. One of the first places I saw was an almshouse with this name. . .

20120427-170949.jpg

. . . Thinking of our own Catherine. . .

Then on to the cheese shop. What else do you buy in Gouda but Gouda!!!

20120427-171203.jpg

The town hall. . . .

20120427-171351.jpg

We even saw a Triumph, ready for a honeymoon. . .

20120427-171603.jpg

Then my camera battery died. Sorry. BUT. . . . Let me tell you about the rest of the day. Do you want to know about misery on a bike??!! ( I’m really joking. . .NOT misery. . .just wet, cold, and diggin’ deep. . . )Try riding 40 miles. . . Probably 20 of those in driving rain and headwinds. . .crosswinds. . . From the east, from the west, from the north. . .but NEVER a tailwind.
NEVER. NEVER.

At the end of the day we were pooped. Just exhausted.

BUT, I used my iPad to take a few photos around the barge. . .

20120427-172216.jpg

20120427-172358.jpg

20120427-172328.jpg

20120427-172503.jpg

Leave a Reply

