Dresden. . A Quick Stop

Standard

After leaving Berlin we headed for Prague.  But on the way we passed Dresden, so why not stop for a look-see!  This was another town that was annihilated by WWII, this time by the Allied forces in retaliation for bombings in Great Britain.

I noticed all the buildings were blackened, and I thought, “Don’t these people know about restoration?”  But I was wrong.  The local stone contains magnesium which blackens quickly.  The black actually protects the stone and thus, the building.  If cleaned, it will blacken again in 30 years.

IMG_2311IMG_2314(Telma, I took the picture of the clocktower for you!!)

As you can see, the day was cloudy and eventually rainy, and after our city tour we ducked into a Greek restaurant for a leisurely lunch and waited out the rain.

One particular part of Dresden interested me.  Our guide showed us the mosaic wall of the princes of Saxony, which fortunately was not damaged during the war.  It’s a magnificent piece of history.  Each piece of glass is created and fired individually.  The workmanship is truly something to behold.

She told us that under Soviet rule, “they” didn’t want students to see or learn about this wall, and kids were only able to learn history starting at 1918.  To the Soviets, nothing existed before then.  She jokingly said that as students they were glad not to be required to learn anything before 1918!

It really is amazing to me that once again, one of the most important artifacts in the town was spared the bombs of WWII.

IMG_2315

A walk through the Transportation Museum revealed two interesting vehicles!

Hearkening back to my childhood Lutheran roots and remembering a research report I did on Martin Luther, I was drawn into the Lutheran church, which was ornate and elaborate.  So much so, that in the square in front of the church, Martin Luther turns his back on the church, saying that it was too fancy to be Lutheran.

IMG_2320IMG_2321

A final bathroom stop led us into this beautiful, historic hotel.  Now if I were to return to Dresden, which I think I would like to do, I would want to stay here.  It’s the epitome of old luxury.  Marge and I discovered the tea room with its magnificent tea urn.  We would have like just one more hour to sit in the now-sunny garden and have a cuppa.

Maybe next time?!

Leave a Reply

