It’s Time. . .in fact,We’re Overdue!

Standard

How can it be 2 1/2 years since we have visited Italy.  We haven’t exactly been sitting still, but now I know why I’ve had that hollow ache, and why my tongue won’t curl around those Italian words, and why I’m back to learning verbs and conjugations I knew much,much better.  Dang.  

BUT WE’RE GOING BACK.  FINALLY.  

For three weeks we will explore la Maremma, the western area of Tuscany.  I used a LOT of tape on our well-worn Tuscany map (our second), and began creating an itinerary to include Etruscan necropoli, enchanted forests, thermal spas, an Infiorata, a visit with friends, a vineyard tour and tasting, many hill towns including Montepulciano, a lunch there with Sara my very patient Italian teacher, and time to sit in small piazzas with un caffe or spremuta d’arancia (orange juice).  

In large part, this journey was inspired by The Maremma Guide, a free online newsletter published by a woman named Donna who lives in the area.  She enchanted me with her tales of castles, cave dwellings, natural areas, hidden restaurants, and sweet beaches.  We can’t do it all, but we’re using many of her recommendations.  

We’ll visit many highlighted villages and discover more along the way, I’m sure!


So let’s see if this posts to Facebook as I hope it will.  Our bags are packed, we’re ready to go.  

Blast off very soon.  FINALLY.  LOOOOONNNNNNGGGGGG EXHALE!!

One response »

  1. can’t wait to follow your adventures.  Enjoy!Pam

    From: wheresweinberger To: teachpa1@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, June 7, 2017 9:43 PM Subject: [New post] It’s Time. . .in fact,We’re Overdue! #yiv3269133358 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3269133358 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3269133358 a.yiv3269133358primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3269133358 a.yiv3269133358primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3269133358 a.yiv3269133358primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3269133358 a.yiv3269133358primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3269133358 WordPress.com | Luisa posted: “How can it be 2 1/2 years since we have visited Italy.  We haven’t exactly been sitting still, but now I know why I’ve had that hollow ache, and why my tongue won’t curl around those Italian words, and why I’m back to learning verbs and conjugation” | |

Leave a Reply

